ONE ON ONE WITH JONAH

On Friday afternoon following practice at the stadium, Good Things Utah teamed up with Make A Wish Foundation to grant a six year-old named Jonah his wish.

Jonah is a die-hard Real Salt Lake fan who goes to a bunch of our games with his mom and dad.

Make A Wish Foundation grants wishes of children with life-threatening medical conditions to enrich their lives.  Of all the things he could have asked for, his wish was to meet me and kick the ball around for a few minutes.  I was flattered that when he was asked, I was who he wanted to meet.

Around noon, Jonah came through the stadium tunnel decked out in RSL gear from head-to-toe, and made his way onto the edge of the field where I met him and asked if he wanted to kick the ball around.  Before I even finished asking him the question, he was off to the middle of the field with his ball ready to take me on.

What a great program Make A Wish Foundation is, where they continue to find ways to better the lives of those less fortunate.  It was great to take part in their program and hang out with Jonah for part of the afternoon.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “ONE ON ONE WITH JONAH

  1. Mary

    I’ve been blessed to work with Make-A-Wish through my sorority while I was in college and since graduation. This is the 3rd wish I got to see granted in person (Jonah getting to sing at halftime). Each wish is unique and inspiring. Thank you for taking the time to grant Jonah his wish. This is something that he and his family will cherish forever.

  2. My father told me about this yesterday and it made me grin ear to ear. Well done Kyle! And RSL! Very classy and extremely cool. I pray for good things for Jonah and his family.

  3. Langendorf

    Awww, Kyle, this is awesome! Post more pics of the little guy. Bob was rockin your jersey yesterday. We always look for RSL gear in the sports stores around here, but it isn’t in any of them. Guess I’ll have to cop me something from your site.

    See you at RFK!

  4. matthewsf

    Great job Kyle. The first picture speaks volumes.

  5. bogjuice

    this made me grin. I didn’t know who the kid was when he came out with Archeuleta. reading this made more sense was awesome. i’m more proud of you guys because of it.

  6. Dixon

    Kyle, dude thats awesome! Good job man, proud of you. Always keeping it class brotha

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention ONE ON ONE WITH JONAH « KYLE BECKERMAN OFFICIAL BLOG -- Topsy.com

  8. Leon

    Was at this game that little kid was awsome way to go KB you made his dream come true !

  9. Ashley

    This was amazing, it looks like this boy was truly happy. Being able to make some ones wish come true like that must have been amazing.

  10. Pingback: Make-A-Wish Foundation® of Utah » Jonah’s Wish to Play Soccer With ReAL Salt Lake

Leave a Reply

